New Year, New Law
Arizona's State-Wide Phone Ban while Driving
Distracted drivers have caused serious and sometimes deadly crashes on Arizona's roadways. A quick glance at a text, email or social media update is the type of distracted driving that has resulted in thousands of injuries and hundreds of deaths in our community. In order to help prevent distracted driving, Arizona has passed a ban on use of cell phones while driving effective January 1, 2021. According to Arizona Revised Statute § 29-914, it is now against the law to physically hold your phone (including on your lap) while your vehicle is moving. Texting while driving, scrolling through social media, and recording videos is not permitted. You may use your device if it's in a hands-free mode. Therefore you may answer a call or use navigation features so long as you are not holding your phone while driving. An exception to the law, is use of the mobile device in order to make an emergency 911 call.
First time violation will result in a fine from $75 to $149.
Repeat violation will result in a fine from $150- $200.
Together we can make Arizona roads safer by focusing on the road rather than focusing on our phones.